So, our DM was down in Florida the last two weeks, and they accidentally bought too many strawberries back on the way home. TLDR we had a session on Friday night, and I am now the proud owner of 2 lbs of super ripe Florida strawberries. Have some ideas for the rest (strawberry lemon cake here I come), but the boy and I haven’t done waffles in a bit, and this was lurking in my to-make pile, so I decided to push this up and make these Sunday night.

Good life choice, that. Browned butter plus roasted strawberries = holy yes. This was originally a pancake recipe, and I think they may have been a bit thicker than I was expecting when I cooked them – any tips for thinning out the batter?

Roasted Strawberry Browned Butter Waffles

Ingredients

  • 1.5 c sliced strawberries
  • (original recipe recommended roasting with olive oil, I think I’ll just let them roast in their own juices next time)
  • half a stick (.25 c) unsalted butter
  • 2 c flour
  • 1 T sugar
  • 2 t baking powder
  • .5 t cinnamon
  • pinch sea salt
  • 2 t vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1.25 c milk

Preheat your oven to 375. Take your sliced strawberries, spread them in an even layer in a baking dish, and roast for 20 to 25 minutes, until juicy and caramelly. 

While the strawberries finish, heat a small pot to medium high heat and brown your butter, melting it and whisking it until small brown bits start to form in the bottom (see pic 2 and 3 for what that looks like). Remove the butter from heat and set aside for later.

Meanwhile, mix together all your dry ingredients. In a smaller bowl, whisk together the vanilla extract, egg, and milk, before pouring it into the dry ingredients and mixing until just barely combined. Then, pour in your browned butter, and a quarter of the strawberries and their juices. (The recipe recommends thinning with additional milk, but I tried that, and I think I may have thickened it somehow??)

Preheat your waffle iron, cook according to directions, and then top with the remaining roasted strawberries. 

Leave a comment