As of right now, this was one of the last new recipes that I ever cooked in my old place. My kitchen is now reduced to a few cups, mugs, what is left of my pantry that I’m taking with me, and whatever I have left in my fridge. It’s a real weird feeling right now, but I’m ready for what’s to come. 

I’ve been wanting to make this tart since Deb first put it up, and since it’s pretty easy and cheap to make, I decided to go for it. I could’ve made the tart shell, but as I was at the tail end of packing everything when I made this, I just decided to buy a pie shell and go from there, and didn’t really have the time or patience to make a pretty concentric overlapping circle with the potato slices. Still turned out damn good. 

Blue Cheese and Potato Tart
lasts about a week as a main

Ingredients

  • 1 savory tart shell (or, if you’re lazy like me, one pre-made pie crust), ready to fill
  • 1 lb small red potatoes, sliced thin
  • 1 c heavy whipping cream
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • .25 lb (about .75 c) blue cheese of choice, crumbled (I took my hunk of Hook’s Blue Paradise, and crumbled it using a knife)
  • sprinkle of sea salt
  • 1 T chopped herbs of choice (I used dried rosemary and thyme per Deb’s suggestion)

Take your potatoes, slice them thin, and then put them in a pot covered by about two inches of water, bringing the pot to a boil and then reducing to a simmer, uncovered, until the slices are tender, about ten minutes. Preheat your oven to 350 while they simmer.

Take your potato slices and attempt to arrange them in overlapping concentric circles around the pan. However, if you have been attempting to arrange a move down to Chicago in a little over two weeks and have been packing for most of the preceding week, take the potato slices and dump them in in a slightly artsy looking fashion. Take your crumbled blue cheese and toss it over the potatoes in a similarly artsy looking fashion. Don’t worry, it’ll look like you meant it. And probably rustic. 

Whisk together the yolk and heavy cream until combined, and then pour it over your potatoes and cheese. Sprinkle the top of the tart with sea salt, and your herbs of choice.  

Put the pie shell on a baking sheet (or if you’re me, a pizza pan), and bake at 350 for between 45 to 50 mins, until the tart is a good golden brown like in the final picture and bubbling a bit. Cool, and nom your fantastic tart (you can serve it warm or cold).

Leave a Reply

