So, big life news here: I’m about to move down to Chicago in… a little bit over two weeks. so I’m mostly going to be focused on cooking down my fridge, and sticking to mainstay recipes rather than doing new stuff. So, this blog might go dark for a little bit while I move.

That doesn’t mean I can’t dig out an old recipe that I somehow forgot to post (derp). This was a recipe I submitted a few montsh ago to a grilled cheese contest, never heard back, so I’m gonna write this up and hope for the best for the future. Because, I’m gonna be real – this is one of the most amazing grilled cheeses I’ve had, ever.

Red Black and Blue Grilled Cheese
Makes 1 sandwich

Ingredients

  • sourdough bread, two slices (I used a sliced loaf of Stella’s sourdough bread, fantastic)
  • deli rare roast beef (I used about 2 slices, do to your taste)
  • small handful of strawberries, hulled and sliced
  • sprinkle of sugar
  • blue cheese (I used several slices off of a chunk of Hook’s Blue Paradise, crumbles or slices work fine here, do to your taste)
  • butter

First, preheat your oven to 375, take your sliced strawberries, put them in a small ramekin, sprinkle with sugar, and then roast the strawberries for about 8 minutes, until they’re soft. Remove from the oven, and let them cool a bit. 

Meanwhile, take your sourdough slices, and layer between them, in order: your deli rare roast beef on bottom, your blue cheese in the middle, and the roasted strawberries and their juices on top (so that it looks similar to the photo up there). 

Take a small pan, and melt a small pat of butter over medium heat, while buttering the outsides of the sourdough slices. Once the butter is melted, add the sandwich, and grill for about five minutes on each side, until the bread is a nice golden brown and the blue cheese melts. 

And then, enjoy the gloriousness of this grilled cheese. You could also probably add a drizzle of balsamic to make it even more amazing. 

Leave a Reply

