My mom got me some lovely little ramekins as part of my Christmas gifts, and the moment I came across this recipe, I knew this was what I was going to use to break them in. I altered the recipe a bit, as I’m not the biggest fan of spinach, and honestly didn’t want to go out in the cold to get shallots. Regardless, the resulting dish is pretty fantastic, and makes a perfect Sunday breakfast – especially when served with mimosas using the leftover champagne. 

Champagne Baked Eggs with Crispy Ham
Makes 4 ramekins

Ingredients

  • 1 c champagne
  • 4 eggs
  • pinch sea salt and pepper
  • 1 T melted butter for ramekins
  • .75 c grated gruyere
  • 2 oz ham, sliced into thin strips

Preheat your oven to 350. Melt your butter, and split between the ramekins. Divide your cup of champagne equally between the four ramekins, and crack an egg into each one, adding a pinch of sea salt and pepper on top. Fry your ham in a skillet over medium heat until it’s your desired level of crispy (I went mildly crispy), and split between the ramekins. Sprinkle the gruyere over each ramekin. 

Put the ramekins on a baking sheet (or pizza pan in my case), and bake for 13 to 15 minutes (the deeper the ramekin, the longer it’ll need to bake). Let rest for about five minutes, and then enjoy!

Leave a Reply

