So this recipe will always be one forever etched in my mind, as it was the one where I found out how to handle an oven fire. (The pictured oven? It’s almost forty years old, near as I can tell.  It’s always run 25 degrees hot at minimum, and lately, it’s been smoking when I use it at higher temperatures.) When I preheated the oven, it seemed to be smoking more than usual – when I opened the oven, there was a small fire on the bottom.  After a quick moment of panic and googling, I learned how to put out the fire.  Gonna share it below, just in case you ever need to put out an oven fire.

1. DON’T OPEN THE OVEN – oxygen only feeds the fire. Let it burn itself out.

2. Turn off the oven and let it sit.

I only opened the oven one more time to see if it had burned out, and almost fed it further. But after that, I just let it sit and when I opened it next, it had burned out. 

The good that came out of this was that I learned how to clean my oven, and that in talking to the landlord about it, I got him to replace it with a gas oven that’s coming this Wednesday. I’ve only cooked with it twice since then, and frankly, I’ve only gotten worried at any temps that are above 400.  It hasn’t set on fire since, at least, so small miracles.

…Anyways.  They’re very good scones!

Strawberry White Chocolate Scones
Makes 8 scones

Ingredients

  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 T milk
  • 1 T vanilla extract
  • 2 c flour
  • 2 T sugar
  • 2 t baking powder
  • .5 t salt
  • 5 T frozen butter
  • 1 c sliced strawberries
  • 1/3 c white chocolate chips

Frosting

  • .5 c powdered sugar
  • 1 T vanilla extract
  • 1 T milk

Mix together your dry ingredients in a large bowl, and mix together your wet ingredients except for the butter and strawberries and white chocolate in a separate smaller bowl. I accidentally switched the bowl sizes, but it still works.  Take your frozen butter, and grate it into the dry ingredients, and mix it together until the dry ingredients clump like wet sand.  Slice your strawberries into small slices, and then add them and the white chocolate to your wet ingredients. Then combine the wet and dry ingredients, until you have a single ball of dough; don’t be afraid to work extra flour into the dough if it’s too damp.  

Take your ball of dough, put it on a well floured surface, and flatten it into a circle that’s about an inch and a half thick. Divide it into eight wedges, and preheat the oven to 450 (425 on my oven). Bake for about fifteen minutes, until golden brown. 

While your scones bake, whisk together your powdered sugar, vanilla extract, and milk until you have a glaze. Once the scones are down, put them on a rack to cool, and as they’re cooling, drizzle them with the glaze.

And then, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

