Miso and potatoes aren’t necessarily a combination I would think of off the top of my head, but honestly, the way this smelled coming together has made me a believer.  

A few notes. I used white miso as the recipe does not specify which kind of miso to use, but you could probably go red as well.  What I typically tend to do with my miso is purchase tubs of it (my brand of choice is Maruman, in the 26 oz tubs) and store it in my fridge until I need it.  I also got a variety of roasting potatoes from the farmer’s market, as we’re still in winter mode out here, and don’t have new potatoes available at a reasonable price just yet.  I also doubled the sauce portion of the recipe, as I got a bit closer to a pound and a half than the pound and a quarter the original recipe recommends, and I honestly like the miso glaze coverage more like this.

Spicy Miso-Glazed Potatoes
Lasts 4 lunches as a side

Ingredients

  • 1.25 lbs new potatoes (I got 1.5 lbs of a roasting mix at the farmer’s market)
  • 4 T miso (I used white, red would probably work as well, as well as a mix of both)
  • 2 T sake
  • 2 T water
  • 1 T brown sugar
  • .5 t Asian chili paste of choice (I used sambal oelek, original also recommends Doubanjiang)
  • 1 garlic clove grated (or if you’re feeling lazy like I was, a few dashes of garlic powder)
  • 2 T butter

Take a pot of water, add 2 T salt and your potatoes, and bring it to a boil before reducing it to a simmer, and then cook until fork tender (appx 15 minutes).  While your potatoes cook, whisk together your miso, sake, water, brown sugar, chili paste, and grated garlic, until you have a smooth sauce resembling picture four.  Once your potatoes are done, drain them and let them dry, until the skins become papery (mine sat an hour while OUaT was on, and they were papery by the time it was done).

Melt your butter in a skillet over medium high heat and fry your potatoes, until they’re lightly browned on each side.  Then add your miso sauce and coat the potatoes in the sauce, until they’re all covered (see pic 5), and continue to fry, until there is no longer liquid in the pan and the sauce on the potatoes starts to caramelize (see final pic for what they should look like at the end of the frying process).

These can be enjoyed hot or cold; either way, dig in and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

