So, this? This is one of the best things you can do during the fall.  The slow cooker makes the apple-brown sugar-cinnamon combo filter all throughout your house for the full six hours of cooking.  Plus, it’s a great way to use up a bunch of apples, especially if you can find them for cheap at the farmer’s market.  (I got thirteen apples for… I want to say $4 or $5, maximum.  Tis the season.)

This recipe is going to be a bit approximate, as I upped just about everything to match the higher apple content.  I’ll give suggested minimums along with what I did personally.  The thirteen apples I got filled up the crock pot most of the way, and gave me a good pound of applesauce.

Crockpot Applesauce
Lasts 5 lunches as side (at 1 lb of sauce)

Ingredients

  • apples, peeled, cored, and chopped (recipe suggests 8 minimum, I used 13, a mix of Cortland and another type that the vendor didn’t specify)
  • cinnamon sticks (original recipe suggests one, I used five)
  • brown sugar (original recipe suggests 5 t, I just kind of shook the bag out on top of the apples, probably about 3 T worth)
  • lemon juice (original recipe recommends 1 t, I squirted about a quarter of a small lemon bottle onto the top of the apples)

Peel, core, and chop your apples, putting them in the crock pot once chopped. If you find yours filling up most of the crock pot like I did, layer in your cinnamon sticks.  Top with the lemon juice and brown sugar, and at least one cinnamon stick.

Cover your cock pot, turn to low, and proceed to cook for six hours.  Stir at least once every hour, especially as you get towards the last three hours, as the apples will get mushier, and if you stir them, it’ll help them break down into the sauce easier.

Once your six hours is up, the sauce should be looking like the final picture.  I just took out my cinnamon sticks from there and spooned it into a container, as I like this sort chunkier, but if you want it smoother, still remove the sticks and blend it.

Leave a Reply

