So, this is my attempt at making omurice!  Exactly how successful this was is pretty debatable, as it’s not nearly as pretty as some of the other omurices I’ve seen out there, but I imagine this is something that will get better with time.

But what this recipe proved is that I’m getting way better at improv in the kitchen!  The original recipe from Fucking Recipes is very vague and shouty, but I managed to put this together myself, and it wasn’t half bad if I do say so myself!  The base recipe on this is going to be vague, as this is highly customizable. My fried rice was made of bacon, shiitake, and garlic.  You can do whatever the hell you want!

I will point out, though, that the flavor is pretty bland on this, so you’re gonna want to put something on top of this. I’m gonna be getting some katsu sauce later this week, and this is so going on this.

Omurice
Makes 2 omurice

  • 2 c rice
  • [whatever seasonings, protien, and veggies you want, I went with bacon, shiitake mushrooms, and garlic]
  • ketchup
  • eggs (between 2 to 4 to make your omelette)

First, cook your fillings – I went with the garlic first, followed by the bacon and shiitake mushrooms.  I already had two cups of cooked rice, so then I just added that to the pan, along with a few good squirts of ketchup, until everything was covered in the ketchup and pretty cooked.

Remove the rice from the pan, clean it quick, and then beat your eggs and add them directly to the pan and cook them over medium high for your omelette. 

Now, the omurice that I saw in Japan had the egg over the top of the rice, like a straw hat, so I attempted that. You can see exactly how successful that was above.  Good luck with that one. If you’re way more arty than me, you’ll probably do well at this.

Leave a Reply

