Ladies and gentlemen, this is one of my all time favorite sides, with only the mozzarella-stuffed garlic buns coming in second (I will be doing those again soon, and trust me, nom nom nom nom).  Nice little pan-fried bread, with roasted garlic to top, and a perfect carby accompaniment to any meal.  

A note: this turned out a little different than it normally turns out when I normally make it (a lot more sticky/wet, could probably have used more flour, and used maple syrup instead of honey bc I ran out about halfway through), so I will likely amend this later when I make a batch that I like better. I haven’t made this in a while, and I think I may have doubled previous recipes. Not sure enough to say why, though.  😛

Pan-Fried Garlic Bread

  • 1.5 c water
  • 1 t instant yeast
  • .5 T salt
  • 3.5 c flour
  • 2 T honey
  • olive oil for pan (and to grease bowl bread will rise in)
  • 1 head roasted garlic
  • spice to sprinkle on finished bread (I used garlic salt)

Combine everything except the olive oil, roasted garlic, and spice in a bowl, and stir to combine.  The dough should be sticky and gooey.  Transfer the dough to an olive oil greased bowl, cover with a towel, and allow to rise for at least 3 hours, or up to overnight (I have leaned towards 5 hours to overnight in the past).

Once the dough is ready to go, heat a bit of olive oil in a small pan over medium high heat, and while that heats, tear off a piece of the dough, dusting your fingers with flour to diminish the stickiness.  Stretch with fingers until ¼ inch thick, and then place the dough in the pan.  Fry for appx 30 secs, until the bottom is golden brown, or prior to the dough bubbling.  Flip, and fry for about the same amount of time, until bottom is golden brown.  

Remove to your container, and let dry for a moment, and spread cloves of roasted garlic (I recommend pre peeling the roasted garlic and having it ready waiting in a bowl) on the bread, and sprinkle with your spice of choice.  

Repeat until you run out of dough.  ^^

 

Leave a Reply

