Hey folks!  The long weekend rearranged my priorities cooking wise slightly, so I haven’t really cooked prior to now.  (Yay for cookouts/viewing parties where you don’t have to contribute food!)

So, sometimes you have cravings.  Mozzarella has been high on my list, and I seriously need to try and make it myself with the amount that I’m going through it as of late.  This is another way to try and satisfy these cravings.  😛

Personal note re: pastry shell: be sure you thaw it for at least 24 hours in the fridge before you use it.  I accidentally opened the shell and thawed it after, so it was likely a little dry.

Tomato and Mozzarella Tart
Lasts appx 5 meals

Ingredients:

  • 16 oz puff pastry (I used frozen)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2 oz grated parmesan
  • 1 pound (appx 4) plum or roma tomatoes, sliced thin
  • a dash salt and pepper
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 8 oz mozzarella (I used presliced log mozzarella, the original recipe recommends grated)
  • 2 T fresh basil

Heat your oven to 425, and arrange your puff pastry so that it fits on a baking sheet.  I cobbled together two separate puff pastry sheets to get what you see above.  Fold over the edges of the pastry over by a half inch, and brush with the beaten egg.  Sprinkle the Parmesan evenly over the shell, and poke the shell with a fork so that there are holes all over (and I mean all over; I didn’t get the body the first time through, and when I checked it in the oven, it was puffing up to a ridiculous degree).  While this is happening, combine the olive oil, salt and pepper, and garlic, and dry the sliced tomatoes (and sprinkle with a bit of salt).

Put it in the oven for 15 minutes, and then reduce the heat to 350 and bake until golden brown and crisp (usually another 10 to 15 mins).  Remove from heat, and take the oven back up to 425.  While the tart cools, tile on the mozzarella and tomatoes, and sprinkle with the garlic oil.

Return the tart to the oven, and bake until deep golden brown and the cheese melts (appx 15 mins).  Remove from the oven and sprinkle with fresh (or dried) basil (half amount if using dried).

Leave a Reply

